Wizard of wor

Discussion of playback questions / problems. Any recording where people have playback problems should appear here.

Moderator: Chad

Post Reply
User avatar
kfx
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 6:52 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Wizard of wor

Post by kfx » Wed May 15, 2002 5:41 am

When I play Wizard of wor in Mame.060 I can´t get the playback to work. It gets out of synch after a few seconds.

I have tried using no frameskip, but that didn´t help.

What can I do to make it work?

TIA
Last edited by kfx on Mon Jun 24, 2002 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tmorrow
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2002 8:00 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by tmorrow » Wed May 15, 2002 9:26 am

What recording are you trying to playback - one from MARP or one of your own? Remember you must replay recordings back with the same mame exe's that produced the inp file in the first place. Even then, sometimes recordings don't always playback correctly (rare).
Tim

User avatar
kfx
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 6:52 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by kfx » Wed May 15, 2002 9:46 am

I was trying to play back my own recording. But maybe there is something wrong with mame0.60

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Wed May 15, 2002 1:14 pm

this is very possible, since they fixed some playbackability issues by adding Kales fix, there may have been other things that have broken? I've had strange problems with cfg/gamename.cfg files either needing to be created/copied/deleted before playing back even my own recordings, but other times mame60 didn't care, you might try moving around the wow.cfg file to see if that changes the playback score.
-skito

roncli
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 514
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2002 12:49 pm
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

O_O

Post by roncli » Fri May 17, 2002 3:51 pm

Maybe that's why my 3.3M on Atari Tetris won't play? I'll try that and see what happens...
-roncli
[Poor sig. :P --SarcasmCli]

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Sat May 18, 2002 12:43 am

btw, i've sort of confirmed that most of my mame 60 problems were not working right with cfg files because it wasn't an official mame60 version i was testing with. as far as i know officially distributed mame60 doesn't care is doing a pretty good job if you have or don't have a cfg file, but if you are unofficial or manually compiling latest mame source it might care.
-skito

User avatar
kfx
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 6:52 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by kfx » Sat Jun 22, 2002 6:20 pm

I still can´t playback wow recordings made in mame.060 windows command line version. I have tried to playback Mark Longridge´s score of 107.000 but it gets out of synch after a few seconds. I can not playback my own recording that I have just uploaded, but hopefully somebody can.

I have tried to playback with and without sound, but it do not make a difference. I have tried to download mame0.60 again, but it makes no difference. This is gettin pretty frustration, but QRS could playback his recording. I am not using cfg files, I am using the playback.bat file from MARP to wiew the recording.

What should I try to do :?:
Last edited by kfx on Mon Jun 24, 2002 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4122
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Sat Jun 22, 2002 7:27 pm

Mark's recording plays back perfectly for me, using my usual own, unmodified compile of the Win32 CLI version.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
kfx
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 6:52 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by kfx » Sat Jun 22, 2002 8:14 pm

I just don´t get it :(

This is the only game, that I can´t playback, and not even my own recording, makes no sence to me.

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Sat Jun 22, 2002 9:37 pm

I wasn't able to playback marks wow unless i had sound turned off, after that i could play it back perfectly with out throttle even... were you able to play it back with sound on???
-skito

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4122
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Jun 23, 2002 12:34 am

Chad wrote:were you able to play it back with sound on???
Yes.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

Buttermaker
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 9:06 am

Just a little correction

Post by Buttermaker » Mon Jun 24, 2002 3:22 pm

It's Wizard of Wor, not War.

User avatar
sikraiken
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 717
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2002 3:28 pm

Post by sikraiken » Mon Jun 24, 2002 3:25 pm

Yea. What is WOR, anyhow?.....

User avatar
kfx
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 6:52 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by kfx » Mon Jun 24, 2002 3:42 pm

changed it from war to wor, allways thought it was war.

Buttermaker
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 9:06 am

Post by Buttermaker » Mon Jun 24, 2002 3:51 pm

JoeyL21988 wrote:Yea. What is WOR, anyhow?.....
It's probably a Land. On the flyer it says:
The object of WIZARD OF WOR is to descend into the many dungeons of Wor...

Post Reply