Wolfmame 0.86 problems

General discussion on MAME, MARP, or whatever else that doesn't belong in any of the other forums

Moderators: mahlemiut, seymour, QRS

The_Pro
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 11:10 pm

Wolfmame 0.86 problems

Post by The_Pro » Sat Sep 04, 2004 12:26 am

Having some trouble getting this version to work. The one currently on the news page, wolfmame32plus 0.86. I can't play any games at all, instantly booted back to the gui. Everything seems to be in order, roms, folders. Never had this kind of trouble with the 30 other versions of MAME I've used. A small window seems to appear before I return to the gui but it disappears way to fast. Saw a thread about 0.85 problems but the solution there didn't help.

Any help would be appreciated.
Aurcade - Find the coin-op games you want to play!

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Sat Sep 04, 2004 12:43 am

there were two 85 problems, did you see this one?

viewtopic.php?p=30019#30019

There is a NEW problem with wolfmame86 (probably the mameplus part of it) that roms ziped with zipmax will not work, thus you have to automatically unzip the roms and them zip them again (at a worse compression) to make them work.
-skito

The_Pro
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 11:10 pm

Post by The_Pro » Sat Sep 04, 2004 2:15 am

That was the thread I had already seen. I'm not sure about the other one you mention, the other one I found seemed to be about playback speed and large inp files, nothing of help. I removed the standard line in the ini which didn't help. Although that thread did mention something about editing the ctrl folder but I have no idea what that is.

Tried unzipping the roms and recompressing at different rates, no difference.
Aurcade - Find the coin-op games you want to play!

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Sat Sep 04, 2004 3:11 am

hmm the other one was where wolfmame85 was corrupt. you might try saying what happens when you play a game, does it just do NOTHING, does it show an error message. have you tried the command line version?
-skito

User avatar
Weehawk
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2538
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:43 am
Location: Devil's Canyon
Contact:

Post by Weehawk » Sat Sep 04, 2004 3:24 am

Try creating a new ini, or running without one.

Try the command line version to see if it works or gives you a clue what's wrong.
John Cunningham (JTC)
Image

The_Pro
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 11:10 pm

Post by The_Pro » Sat Sep 04, 2004 4:17 am

The command line version points to the standard controller issue. I removed it from the ini again and now I can use the command line version. Windows version still has the same problem though (doesn't do anything, just checks for the roms) but I can deal with that. As long as I can watch the inp's it's all good.

Hmmm, it seems every time I try to open a rom with the windows version it recreates that line in the ini file. If there was a way to prevent it from doing that, then I imagine it would work as well.

Thanks for the help.
Aurcade - Find the coin-op games you want to play!

User avatar
Weehawk
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2538
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:43 am
Location: Devil's Canyon
Contact:

Post by Weehawk » Sat Sep 04, 2004 4:33 am

The_Pro wrote:The command line version points to the standard controller issue. I removed it from the ini again and now I can use the command line version. Windows version still has the same problem though (doesn't do anything, just checks for the roms) but I can deal with that. As long as I can watch the inp's it's all good.

Hmmm, it seems every time I try to open a rom with the windows version it recreates that line in the ini file. If there was a way to prevent it from doing that, then I imagine it would work as well.

Thanks for the help.
You could make the ini file read-only.
John Cunningham (JTC)
Image

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4143
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Sat Sep 04, 2004 4:39 am

Two main things that I know that causes the GUI to fail...

1) There must be a folder named 'ini'
2) There must be a standard ctrlr file 'ctrlr/Standard.cfg' (should be included in the zip)

Both these can be avoided if you use the commandline exe.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

The_Pro
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2004 11:10 pm

Post by The_Pro » Sat Sep 04, 2004 4:42 am

Weehawk wrote: You could make the ini file read-only.
The ini file stays the same but still no worky (hmm, worky or work-y, I must be really tired if I'm contemplating imaginary vocabulary). At least I have the command line version.
Aurcade - Find the coin-op games you want to play!

Caseh
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:45 pm

Post by Caseh » Mon Oct 18, 2004 9:22 am

Hi,

I'm getting these problems in wolfmame 87u1. I have tried taking the ctrlr line out of the .ini but it keeps replacing itself.

The zip never contained the Standard.cfg file, I created a file called Standard.cfg and whacked it in the ctrlr folder to see if that would overcome the problem but it still boots me out of the game before it even starts.

Any ideas as I'm not ken on using command line versions.

User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2473
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT » Mon Oct 18, 2004 2:57 pm

Unzip this file, and put standard.cfg in ctrlr -folder. Then it should work.
(Barry, there wasn't this file, last time I downloaded)

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4143
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Mon Oct 18, 2004 4:12 pm

It's really a silly thing that's used by the GUI - probably just so that they can populate the ctrlr dropdown list. It's also a pain in the ass to add to the zip.
Another option is to setup some ctrlr cfg files that will at least do something useful. :) Why they can't just add a "none" option to the GUI, I don't know.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2473
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT » Mon Oct 18, 2004 8:02 pm

A Wolfmame question:

Wolfmame.txt: -Input viewer, use -inpview <player> to use this.

What's that does? what player?

User avatar
Weehawk
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2538
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:43 am
Location: Devil's Canyon
Contact:

Post by Weehawk » Mon Oct 18, 2004 8:20 pm

The TJT wrote:A Wolfmame question:

Wolfmame.txt: -Input viewer, use -inpview <player> to use this.

What's that does? what player?
Read this part of this thread:
viewtopic.php?p=29554#29554

It graphically shows what input was made by the player.
John Cunningham (JTC)
Image

User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2473
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT » Mon Oct 18, 2004 8:40 pm

So I type:
mamep87u1 blaster -playback bls -inpview ???
??? <what player> ???

Thanks

Post Reply