Could it be?!

General discussion on MAME, MARP, or whatever else that doesn't belong in any of the other forums

Moderators: mahlemiut, seymour, QRS

LN2
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1669
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 4:46 pm
Contact:

Could it be?!

Post by LN2 » Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:01 pm

Hi guys,

I thought I would let you guys know that as of today I now have a PC!!!

I got a nice notebook through ebay. It arrived today!

I am off to install wolfmame 0.78 and start playing(when I have some time...which unfortunately won't be very often).

I likely will just target certain games at first....finally tackle and set some real scores instead of just doing enough for first place. :P

sqbert (FHMC-Q*Bert) is first on my list...

Primary goal is 500+k
Wish goal is 1+ million.

User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2473
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT » Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:52 pm

Great! :P

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:38 pm

Good lord. Next we'll see Macs running Windows. (Which might just happen too :))

I think Hell must have frozen over....
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

zlk
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 489
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2002 11:41 pm

Post by zlk » Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:02 am

Good luck ln2. See if you can break 100M on zookeeper.

User avatar
BBH
Editor
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2002 7:06 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Post by BBH » Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:53 am

mahlemiut wrote:I think Hell must have frozen over....
well it did snow down here this last Christmas..... :O

LN2
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1669
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 4:46 pm
Contact:

Post by LN2 » Thu Jun 09, 2005 7:22 pm

oh, I also will be trying and testing out the latest wolfmame...0.97...to see if it's possible to adopt as the new official version for TG.

This won't happen overnight though. I am still installing and configuring basic stuff.

wow...MSWindows has come quite a long way. They copied so many things from the MacOS it's almost as easy as using a Mac! :P

User avatar
QRS
Editor
Posts: 954
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2002 3:33 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by QRS » Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:53 pm

Now say after me:

10 There are TWO buttons (at least) on the mouse.. not ONE!
20 goto 10

:) :lol:
QRS

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:48 pm

QRS wrote:Now say after me:

10 There are TWO buttons (at least) on the mouse.. not ONE!
20 goto 10

:) :lol:
Microsoft loves adding more buttons to things. My mouse has a mere 5 buttons. :)
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Patwos
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Christchurch, NZ

Post by Patwos » Fri Jun 10, 2005 4:10 am

At least windows is keyboard friendly...... unlike the Mac or Mac originating software such as Adobe Reader which goes out of its way to interefere with standard keyboard shortcuts that Windows users are used to........ I mean to say what is it with tripple clicking the mouse for goodness sake when shift+home would have done the trick more nicley and much quicker.......

One pissed Pat.


(Thats imbibing of too much incohol not annoyed.....)

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Fri Jun 10, 2005 4:27 am

I seem to remember WordPerfect (I think) had you quadruple-clicking to select a paragraph :)
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

LN2
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1669
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 4:46 pm
Contact:

Post by LN2 » Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:21 pm

QRS wrote:Now say after me:

10 There are TWO buttons (at least) on the mouse.. not ONE!
20 goto 10

:) :lol:
Cute...but I have been using a multibutton mouse on my Mac for the past 8 years.


In fact, I can take the mouse and keyboard I use with my mac and use them with this notebook with no problems at all. USB owns.

User avatar
Patwos
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Christchurch, NZ

Post by Patwos » Sat Jun 11, 2005 10:32 pm

mahlemiut wrote:I seem to remember WordPerfect (I think) had you quadruple-clicking to select a paragraph
You remember correctly:

Single click - put the carat at that point
Double click - select the word under the carat
Triple click - select the sentence "under" the carat
Quadruple click - select the paragraph "under" the carat

But you could also do these things much more easily, with less RSI/OOS risks using the keyboard instead. :)

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Sat Jun 11, 2005 11:55 pm

Yeah, I remember WordPerfect being all about keyboard shortcuts, especially back in the days of DOS. Could never remember them, so I just stuck with the menu. :)

Nice to see you upload an inp too... how long has it been since your last one? :)
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Patwos
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 3:52 am
Location: Christchurch, NZ

Post by Patwos » Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:20 am

mahlemiut wrote:Nice to see you upload an inp too... how long has it been since your last one?
Probably 18 months or maybe 2 years since I last uploaded one. Actually I've been too busy with other things recently to spend much time on Mame or Marp or even these boards.... but now that winter seems to have set in for us, maybe you'll see more of me for a while.... ?!?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Jun 12, 2005 5:58 am

Now we just have to get you back to #marp :)
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

Post Reply