Tutankham - Backwards DIPs?

General discussion on MAME, MARP, or whatever else that doesn't belong in any of the other forums

Moderators: mahlemiut, seymour, QRS

Post Reply
xelnia
MARP Serf
MARP Serf
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:42 am

Tutankham - Backwards DIPs?

Post by xelnia » Fri May 16, 2014 10:42 am

Looking at the DIP switches for Tutankham (tutankhm) in MAME I've noticed something that I can't explain. Hopefully the MAME gurus around here can help! :D

According to the manual for Tut, difficulty 2 is set with SW2#5 = OFF and SW2#6 = ON. Difficulty 2 should be equivalent to "Normal" difficulty in MAME. Below is a screenshot of the DIPs in WolfMAME 0.153. Assuming the DIP graphic is read left-to-right, and switches in the up position are ON, this shows that "Normal" is set with SW2#5 = ON and SW2#6 = OFF. This is backwards and would be equivalent to difficulty 3 / Hard. Changing the difficulty to "Hard" reverses the two switches to what I would expect to see for "Normal." So my questions are:

1) Am I seeing this correctly?
2) If so, are "Normal" and "Hard" currently reversed in MAME?
3) Is the description of the DIPs always in lock-step with the graphic of the DIPs? In other words, could the difficulty really be set to "Normal" if the DIP graphic is incorrect?

Thank you!

Image

User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 9:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

Re: Tutankham - Backwards DIPs?

Post by tar » Fri May 16, 2014 2:36 pm

xelina wrote:could the difficulty really be set to "Normal" if the DIP graphic is incorrect?
play a game as is
then , play it switched and decide for yourself
if there are any differences
between the 2 settings or not

User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 9:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

Re: Tutankham - Backwards DIPs?

Post by tar » Sun May 18, 2014 7:30 pm

I tried tutankham on wolf106.
the dipswitch setting with that version is easy.

xelnia
MARP Serf
MARP Serf
Posts: 112
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:42 am

Re: Tutankham - Backwards DIPs?

Post by xelnia » Mon May 19, 2014 1:32 pm

tar wrote:
xelina wrote:could the difficulty really be set to "Normal" if the DIP graphic is incorrect?
play a game as is
then , play it switched and decide for yourself
if there are any differences
between the 2 settings or not
A good idea, for sure. However, I'm still a beginner at the game so it's difficult for me to pick up on the nuances between the difficulty levels. I can see a difference in some enemy behavior, but how do I know that's from the DIPs and not a result of my own gameplay?
tar wrote:I tried tutankham on wolf106.
the dipswitch setting with that version is easy.
The default is "Easy" on versions up to 0.144. On 0.145 and later the default is "Normal." The arcade factory default is "2."

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4122
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Tutankham - Backwards DIPs?

Post by mahlemiut » Mon May 19, 2014 7:31 pm

- 0.144u7: Kanikani updated Tutankham dipswitches.

I remember at the time there was some uncertainty about some of this guy's changes...

EDIT: Never mind, checking the change, it only changed the default from easy to normal. No changes to the DIP locations.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

Post Reply