Ms. Pac-Man Energizers Last Challenge

Somewhere for the annoying and/or off-topic threads to go. Feel free to post about whatever, but abuse will still be dealt with, and possibly with more force. Especially pac-porno. ;)

Moderators: mahlemiut, seymour, QRS, BBH

VelvetRolo
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:14 am

Post by VelvetRolo » Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:51 am

Yip, that command line works for me as well. Thanks Zhorik. You don't have the ROM designation of mspacman, which is apparently why it works...

You missed the pear NotMan! But thanks for sharing. This was the fastest I was able to do this without dieing:
http://ca.youtube.com/watch?v=wWpgdjhXW0o

Never did figure out a consistent, repeatable way of doing this for the slow levels.

User avatar
NotMan
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:00 pm

Post by NotMan » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:29 pm

Ok! you finally figure it out, how the save state works, VelvetRolo. :)

Nice video, but it sure doesn't look like level 21 to me. Hehee!

VelvetRolo wrote:
You missed the pear NotMan!
Yeah! I know, but it wasn't easy to avoid Blinky (red ghost). :(

NotMan

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:29 pm

shoot, i've tried the gambit, all of these "Error: failed to load state" I always get a blue rectangle in the upper corner that goes away after an enter after typing, but after that i get the failure quickly. All of these are after renaming the exectuable name and/or state file names.

wolf106 -pb mspacman -state a
mamep106-vc -pb mspacman -state a
mamep106-vc -pb mspacman -state mspacman-a
mamep106-vc -pb mspacman -state c
mamep106-vc -pb mspacman -state c
mamep106-vc mspacman -pb mspacman -state c
mamep106-vc mspacman -pb mspacman -state mspacman-c

help?
-skito

VelvetRolo
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:14 am

Post by VelvetRolo » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:32 pm

NotMan wrote:Ok! you finally figure it out, how the save state works, VelvetRolo. :)
No NotMan, the command line that YOU gave me doesn't work. Look At Zhorik's. It's different. HIS WORKS.

Sorry, but you're not even reading what I'm saying and it's a little irritating.

User avatar
NotMan
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:00 pm

Post by NotMan » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:40 pm

Ok, Skito! Did you put mspacman-a.sta in STA directory.

To test save state files

mamep106-vc mspacman -state mspacman-a (or -state a)

It should load save state a file right away instead of seeing the start up screen.

To playback:

mamep106-vc mspacman -playback mspacman -state a (or mspacman-a)

NotMan

User avatar
NotMan
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:00 pm

Post by NotMan » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:44 pm

hmm... I guess it work without telling mame what game it is.

It automatically just load the playback and state state itself.

NotMan

VelvetRolo
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:14 am

Post by VelvetRolo » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:46 pm

NotMan wrote:Nice video, but it sure doesn't look like level 21 to me. Hehee!
No, it's level 29...A slow level's a slow level...

VelvetRolo
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:14 am

Post by VelvetRolo » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:49 pm

NotMan wrote:hmm... I guess it work without telling mame what game it is.

It automatically just load the playback and state state itself.

NotMan
Exactly. And in fact it WON'T work if you DO specify the ROM. It will on your machine, but it won't on anyone else's... See, you have to read the details about what someone is saying. Don't just gloss over it. Don't assume I'm a complete idiot just because I'm new... Your command line won't work on Zhorik's machine either. Ask him.

User avatar
NotMan
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:00 pm

Post by NotMan » Wed Nov 28, 2007 12:49 pm

Ok! I'll try level 29 with Wolf101, next time. Hopefully it will work this time. :/

NotMan

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Wed Nov 28, 2007 1:52 pm

NotMan wrote:Ok, Skito! Did you put mspacman-a.sta in STA directory.

To test save state files

mamep106-vc mspacman -state mspacman-a (or -state a)

It should load save state a file right away instead of seeing the start up screen.

To playback:

mamep106-vc mspacman -playback mspacman -state a (or mspacman-a)

NotMan
mamep106-vc mspacman -state mspacman-a

this still says failure to load state, maybe there is some load in an ini file somewhere.
-skito

User avatar
NotMan
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:00 pm

Post by NotMan » Wed Nov 28, 2007 2:47 pm

Skito! Have you tried to edit mame.ini file to check if you have your correct STA directory.

Try mamep106-vc -playback mspacman -state mspacman-a -override

or

You can try creating your own save state and see if it works for you.

NotMan

Post Reply