puckman

Discussion about MARP's regulation play

Moderator: BBH

Post Reply
User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 9:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

puckman

Post by tar » Sat Jul 20, 2013 12:03 pm

http://marp.retrogames.com/inp/a/3/7/pp ... olf106.zip
starts with 5 men ,
score should be 212k after 3men and extra are gone.
Attachments
puckman.zip
could not upload bitmap img. so I zipped it
(3.78 KiB) Downloaded 129 times

User avatar
kernzy
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:47 am

Re: puckman

Post by kernzy » Sun Jul 21, 2013 9:17 am

what???
twin galaxies settings is 5 men start??

User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 9:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

Re: puckman

Post by tar » Sun Jul 21, 2013 3:05 pm

T.G. 5 men ?
what the puck !

User avatar
kernzy
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:47 am

Re: puckman

Post by kernzy » Sun Jul 21, 2013 8:09 pm

ha haa!!!!
i was gonna say, are you going to give Donald the bad news?
lol!!
be cool, bud.
kernzy.
8)

User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 9:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

Re: puckman

Post by tar » Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:40 pm

pacuman , pacmansp
dip switch settings set to 5 men
after watching kernzy's .inps
of the above mentioned games use the same number of lives
in his recordings
thanks skito for the score fix.

User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 9:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

Re: puckman

Post by tar » Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:41 pm

http://marp.retrogames.com/inp/f/b/6/pp ... olf149.zip
it plays to correct amount
i noticed you were able to speed up the player from time to time.
How did you do it ?

User avatar
kernzy
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:47 am

Re: puckman

Post by kernzy » Fri Aug 23, 2013 11:14 am

i think if you hold left or right while travelling left or right...

User avatar
kernzy
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:47 am

Re: puckman

Post by kernzy » Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:27 am

i just tried to play pacuman, to beat Mocha's score.
when i start, i get the message " unable to create the direct3 device".
i've tried everything i know, still nothing. i hate it when a game i have played before does not work anymore.
why does it do that?
cool.

User avatar
pat33999
MARP Serf
MARP Serf
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 4:53 am
Location: United States

Re: puckman

Post by pat33999 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 3:22 am

kernzy wrote:i hate it when a game i have played before does not work anymore.
why does it do that?
...............are you serious? :?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: puckman

Post by mahlemiut » Thu Sep 12, 2013 3:38 am

Obviously, that's a video card/driver issue, not a game issue.

What video card do you have? And try the latest drivers. Also, try using the DirectDraw renderer (if it still exists...).

Intel integrated video chipsets are known to not work currently with MAME 0.149 or later.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: puckman

Post by simpsons99 » Thu Sep 12, 2013 3:51 am

hold on here what is the ruling here 3 or 5 ?

This site is not TG ..

I do not think it's a 5 way start .. Maybe they have scores for 5 man and 3 man scores?
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
kernzy
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:47 am

Re: puckman

Post by kernzy » Thu Sep 12, 2013 11:07 am

indeed Pat, i am serious!!
yes, Barry, i was researching it yesterday and it does seem to be a graphics card issue. it is weird to me, as i already played and submitted a score for pacuman.
i have a "HIS ATI Radeon X1650 pro ICE Q" graphics card, which is 50 times as powerful as is needed to play pacman games. I have used it to host online racing games previously. maybe i'll update driver. i used to play mame on an ATI Radeon 980 card, no probs at all.
Brian, next time you submit a score, observe the text beside the comments box. it reads: "optional description (put TG for Twin Galaxies settings):"
what we need to know is if the 5 man start is ONLY for the original "puckman", or if we are allowed 5 men for all pacman games/clones.
cheers chaps.
8)

User avatar
kernzy
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 699
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:47 am

Re: puckman

Post by kernzy » Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:07 pm

OK! some news.
pacuman now works.
what did i do? NOTHING!!!
all i can think is that my pc was on for 10 hours before i tried yesterday, and only an hour so far today. maybe later tonight it will not work again? lets see...
(i'm thinking overuse or overheating, thats all i can fathom).
the clock's ticking!!
[-o< 8-[ :-k :-"

User avatar
TER
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 2:48 am

Re: puckman

Post by TER » Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:44 am

Just figured out that player 2's left input speeds you up - for pacmanso / pacmansp / pacmanvg that is.

Don't get too excited though - by about the second peach, they're faster than you again... sheesh!

Post Reply