Important stuff about WolfMAME...

General discussion on MAME, MARP, or whatever else that doesn't belong in any of the other forums

Moderators: mahlemiut, seymour, QRS

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4116
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Important stuff about WolfMAME...

Post by mahlemiut » Sat Jan 01, 2005 5:01 am

http://wolfmame.marpirc.net/wolfmameplus-089u6.zip

With this version, I have added a function to create an extra file containing more settings and system info. The filename is the same as for the inp (except for the extension, obviously), and is stored in the same folder. I strongly urge everyone who uploads a recording using this version to include the .wlf file in your zip. This will give further proof of any cheating, as well give extra help for getting recordings to playback correctly. Knowing Skito, he'll probably want to make it a requirement :)

Also, I've included a quick 'fix' for the Pokey, which should make recordings work for numerous old Atari games. So far, it seems to work for Centipede and Gravitar - but more need to be tested (hopefully 720 will now work, Tommi :))
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
kfx
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 6:52 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by kfx » Sat Jan 01, 2005 9:06 am

Great work mahlemiut, but how do I read wlf file ?
storm

OS : winXP
cpu : P4 3gzh

Buttermaker
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 9:06 am

Post by Buttermaker » Sat Jan 01, 2005 10:40 am

wlfview.exe

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4116
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Jan 02, 2005 3:23 am

Forgot to mention - to override the forced settings (with the exception of -m68k_core, no point) just use -override on the commandline.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:01 am

there is a god... :) now we can playback sound recordings with the nosound option! (if they are among the games that can do that) muchos gracias.
-skito

User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2466
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Re: Important stuff about WolfMAME...

Post by The TJT » Sun Jan 02, 2005 11:15 am

This will give further proof of any cheating, as well give extra help for getting recordings to playback correctly. Knowing Skito, he'll probably want to make it a requirement Smile
Well, it's good someone tries to get cheating outta here :cool:
Making wlf a requirement is ok, but if it comes to that, it should be discussed at regulation forum.
mahlemiut wrote: Also, I've included a quick 'fix' for the Pokey, which should make recordings work for numerous old Atari games. So far, it seems to work for Centipede and Gravitar - but more need to be tested (hopefully 720 will now work, Tommi :))
Greaty, if it fixes the problem...that makes 4 more clones to add into "my collection"....If Stunrunner playbacks too..then...fear the domination!!! :lol:

User avatar
dskys
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2003 4:40 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by dskys » Sun Jan 02, 2005 4:07 pm

quick/stupid question

I'm unsure as to what the wlf file is supposed to do or show: If i try to run wlfview it says wlf file not found... where is it looking?

cheers
#Find another way to me
Find another way and make me free
Then you hear my voice 'don't find another wayyyyy'
Oh i've cried for you, please follow me oh follow meee

Buttermaker
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 9:06 am

Post by Buttermaker » Sun Jan 02, 2005 4:51 pm

In the current dir.

User avatar
kfx
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 6:52 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by kfx » Sun Jan 02, 2005 5:05 pm

You just gotta use the .wlf after the file name or it won´t work.
storm

OS : winXP
cpu : P4 3gzh

User avatar
DRN
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:37 am
Location: Somerset, UK
Contact:

Post by DRN » Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:37 pm

Best get spinning Tommi, they work. Just tried a German revision and it plays back no probs. 8O :D

Excellent work Barry!
Darren

User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2466
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT » Mon Jan 03, 2005 12:58 pm

HAHAA! :D
250k will be broken soon!?

My Tron panel craves to be plugged. It has felt so abandoned lately.
But before that I'll "take" couple first places with different controller...Then it'll be back to basics...Tron, 720, T&F :P
I don't seem to get EVER bored playing those games, damn they're good!
Image
Image

User avatar
DGO
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 7:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Important stuff about WolfMAME...

Post by DGO » Tue Jan 04, 2005 11:13 pm

mahlemiut wrote:http://wolfmame.marpirc.net/wolfmameplus-089u6.zip

With this version, I have added a function to create an extra file containing more settings and system info. The filename is the same as for the inp (except for the extension, obviously), and is stored in the same folder. I strongly urge everyone who uploads a recording using this version to include the .wlf file in your zip. This will give further proof of any cheating, as well give extra help for getting recordings to playback correctly. Knowing Skito, he'll probably want to make it a requirement :)

Also, I've included a quick 'fix' for the Pokey, which should make recordings work for numerous old Atari games. So far, it seems to work for Centipede and Gravitar - but more need to be tested (hopefully 720 will now work, Tommi :))

very nice.

Just curious: I'd expect some checks for illegal cheats in the wlf output file (f.e. autofire used) ? I'm just asking because I tested with autofire on, just to see if this was reported in the wlf file, but it isn't, is it?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4116
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Wed Jan 05, 2005 2:31 am

Autofire is usually easy to see, especially when using the input viewer (-inpview). The editors also have tools to check for autofire too, and other stuff too. :)
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
DGO
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 07, 2003 7:39 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by DGO » Wed Jan 05, 2005 9:13 am

mahlemiut wrote:Autofire is usually easy to see, especially when using the input viewer (-inpview). The editors also have tools to check for autofire too, and other stuff too. :)
Aah, ok, I expected something like that, thanks.

User avatar
DRN
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:37 am
Location: Somerset, UK
Contact:

Post by DRN » Thu Jan 06, 2005 8:47 am

Tommi,

Have you tried your spinner for 720 yet? I have a nasty feeling it may not work as the mamedevs changed the controller system for this game from dial to joystick at about 0.85. It no longer works for me anyway! I just get straight up, down, left, right movements. :evil:
Darren

Post Reply