cotton

Discussion of playback questions / problems. Any recording where people have playback problems should appear here.

Moderator: Chad

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

cotton

Post by Chad » Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:25 am

-skito

User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 9:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

Post by tar » Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:44 am

the recording indicated above cotton 456k edg wolf 97.
was playing back fine until he reached stage 4 then desynchronization.
i get 257,990 as the final amount.

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4159
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:17 am

There have been known issues with playing back this game in the past. Exact cause is unknown.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4159
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: cotton

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:35 pm

- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Re: cotton

Post by Chad » Sun Jan 20, 2008 10:33 pm

ditto, need 3rd to zero.
-skito

Edge
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:06 am

Re: cotton

Post by Edge » Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:17 pm

Hi, everyone.

I have been trying to playback my cotton Set 1 replay, which unfortunatelly don't work on my machine as well...
So, are there any known differences between the different Cotton Sets, as far as the success rate of a replay playing back correctly is concerned?

Anyhow I am considering to record another run finishing the game and hope that this input plays back without desync this time. This game isn't actually so hard once you learned the boss's attacks and level layout, so it isn't such a big loss.

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Re: cotton

Post by Chad » Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:37 pm

cool thanks for the word, we'll await your next recording.
-skito

Edge
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:06 am

Re: cotton

Post by Edge » Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:28 pm

Oh thanks,
So I made another clear run, for cottonj. This one works pretty well.
hmm... maybe I am also retrying an input at the Cotton (US Version), the one my previous score had some issues.

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4159
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: cotton

Post by mahlemiut » Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:21 pm

It might be worth a try to use a more recent MAME version. Current is 0.122, hopefully works better.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4159
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: cotton

Post by mahlemiut » Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:11 pm

Edge wrote:Oh thanks,
So I made another clear run, for cottonj. This one works pretty well.
hmm... maybe I am also retrying an input at the Cotton (US Version), the one my previous score had some issues.
http://marp.retrogames.com/inp/e/2/1/ed ... wolf97.zip
Loses sync for me on the 3rd boss.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Re: cotton

Post by Chad » Mon Jan 28, 2008 1:47 am

Edge wrote:Oh thanks,
So I made another clear run, for cottonj. This one works pretty well.
hmm... maybe I am also retrying an input at the Cotton (US Version), the one my previous score had some issues.
Are you testing the recordings before submiting them? You should play them back yourself before you upload, always! I can't get the latest edg_cottonj_761380_wolf97.zip to work either, stops at same place barry indicates, 3rd boss. need third to zero.
-skito

Edge
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:06 am

Re: cotton

Post by Edge » Wed Jan 30, 2008 4:50 pm

mahlemiut wrote: http://marp.retrogames.com/inp/e/2/1/ed ... wolf97.zip
Loses sync for me on the 3rd boss.
Ahh, that's strange. It did work on my machine, as I did test it before uploading...
Hmmm... I switched off the direct draw while recording. Maybe this affects the compatibility..?
But otherwise I think it should work. I am retrying it now and post a snapshot.

BTW, Another question:
After you finished the game on one credit, you can play one more loop. But that's only if you enter one more coin. So, is it allowed to use this coin or are extra credits always fobidden.. (I think the score continues)
Last edited by Edge on Wed Jan 30, 2008 4:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Re: cotton

Post by Chad » Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:56 pm

That is strange, i would imageine the extra loop is an infinitive one where you can keep looping and looping under which case the credit would of course not be allowed. However, if it allows you to play a harder loop that is only repeated once, then i think we'd allow the extra credit. Would have to go through the Regulation Coordinators sight though. play through anyway, since that recording should be acceptable in both manners, in the one credit only we'd change score to score at end of last credit but if multi credits were allowed we'll use the final score.
-skito

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4159
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: cotton

Post by mahlemiut » Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:08 pm

Betcha it wasn't the programmers' idea to make the second loop cost an extra credit. Probably came from the greedy management. :)
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
BBH
Editor
Posts: 1572
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2002 7:06 am
Location: Portland, Oregon
Contact:

Re: cotton

Post by BBH » Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:22 am

I have no objection to allowing a second credit to be used for the second loop. It's rather strange for a game to force the player to insert another credit to be able to play the second loop, seeing how in most shooters the second loop is sort of treated as a "bonus". Either way, I think it should be fine to use a second credit in this instance.

Post Reply