Hippodrome

Discussion of playback questions / problems. Any recording where people have playback problems should appear here.

Moderator: Chad

Post Reply
User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Hippodrome

Post by Chad » Sun Nov 10, 2002 3:41 pm

http://marp.retrogames.com/inp/tjm_hipp ... n35tg3.zip

http://marp.retrogames.com/index.cgi?mo ... rt&tourn=0

Tim's most recent uploads don't playback. They aren't 35tg3 recrodings so they don't come close to working in win35tg3 but they at least start a credit when win35 was used but lose two fights in a row to score next to nothing. any one else try?
-skito

User avatar
tmorrow
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2002 8:00 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by tmorrow » Mon Nov 11, 2002 6:17 am

I can't do much to help but here's some additional details:

1. Both recorded in the standard release MAME32 0.35 http://www.classicgaming.com/mame32qa/

2. Frameskip 0 was used - see txt files within the zip files.

3. All other settings were default I believe.

4. They were recording under Win98 and they played back fine then and play back fine now under Win2000 on my machine - I've tested both.

5. A joystick (Sega Mega Drive Arcade Power Stick) was used in both recordings. Stupid thing won't work under Win2000 :-(

6. At one point on MARP the ffantasy recording was confirmed good.

What settings have you using and do have the correct romset?

Cheers,
Tim

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Mon Nov 11, 2002 11:09 am

could be the sound frequency, what frequency can you get it to playback with 11k 22k 44k?

oh the romset might be different... but i'm not playing back ffantasy (which wouldn't work i think) i'm playing back hippodrm which doesn't have any crc errors (that i remember)
-skito

User avatar
tmorrow
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2002 8:00 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by tmorrow » Mon Nov 11, 2002 8:58 pm

Chad wrote:could be the sound frequency, what frequency can you get it to playback with 11k 22k 44k?
I can't recall the frequency. It is possible that I recorded with sound at 44K rather than 22K. I would not have used 11K. Both recording playback on my machine at 22K option.

I notice that I have Seal sound system + DirectSound audio device set. Could that be the difference? I don't recall what the defaults were for the sound at that time.

Tim

User avatar
Q.T.Quazar
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 10:14 am

Post by Q.T.Quazar » Thu Jul 24, 2003 5:00 am

Tim's ffantasy.inp played back fine for me--of course, the version listing is wrong--it was recorded (and played back) with MAME32v.35final.

Default settings (for win35) were used for playback. This means:

--automatic frameskipping
--sound on (sound system: Seal, Seal Audio Device: DirectSound, Frequency 22050, sample bits: 8). FM synthesis is leftr unchecked, stereo and use samples are both checked.
--256 colors, Direct Draw enabled, MMX disabled

i will confirm when the version listing has been changed
--------------
BrokenVaus--Q.T.Quazar's law of MAME: Any game I am good at will have something seriously f***ed with its emulation.

User avatar
Q.T.Quazar
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 10:14 am

Post by Q.T.Quazar » Thu Jul 24, 2003 5:04 am

incidentally, the same as above applies to Tim's Hippodrome recording.
--------------
BrokenVaus--Q.T.Quazar's law of MAME: Any game I am good at will have something seriously f***ed with its emulation.

User avatar
Q.T.Quazar
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2003 10:14 am

Post by Q.T.Quazar » Sun Aug 03, 2003 5:59 pm

still need you to change the listing for ffantasy.inp, Chad.

http://marp.retrogames.com/index.cgi?mo ... 00&tourn=0

http://marp.retrogames.com/inp/1/6/7/tj ... n35tg3.zip

same deal as hippodrm.
--------------
BrokenVaus--Q.T.Quazar's law of MAME: Any game I am good at will have something seriously f***ed with its emulation.

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Sun Aug 03, 2003 9:17 pm

heheh, you are promised a kingdom, it's queen, and a life of peace... UNTIL next year where you must defend your championship, nice life of peace :)

i just pointed them to this forum, works fine with those settings qt, garcias.
-skito

Post Reply